Become a Nurse in Arkansas – Licensure & Requirements

Nursing requirements change rapidly. Make sure to confirm licensing requirements with the Arkansas State Board of Nursing  before applying for licensure. Last updated: 1/1/2020

Education Requirements for Nursing Licenses in Arkansas
Nursing Licenses in Arkansas Master’s Required?
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist Yes
Certified Nurse Practitioner Yes
Certified Nurse-Midwife Yes
Clinical Nurse Specialist Yes
Registered Nurse (RN) No
Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) No

Arkansas Nursing Salary Average

Arkansas Nursing Salary Average
AR Nurse Career State-Wide Annual Mean Wage Fayetteville-Springdale-Rogers, AR-MO Annual Mean Wage Little Rock-North Little Rock-Conway Annual Mean Wage Memphis, TN-MS-AR Annual Mean Wage
Licensed Practical Nurse $39,570 $44,200 $42,080 $43,150
Registered Nurse $60,780 $60,570 $65,030 $66,350
Nurse Practitioner $104,300 $116,180 $94,910 $107,210
Nurse Anesthetist $186,970 Not Available $182,510 $150,810

Careers as a nurse salaries above were retrieved from the Bureau of Labor Statistics – State Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates Arkansas in January 2020.

There are many paths to becoming a nurse in Arkansas. The path you take will mostly depend upon the type of nurse you’d like to become and your current or prospective level of education. The higher your level of education, the more opportunities you’ll have to choose where and how you pursue your career in nursing.

In addition to nursing salaries in Arkansas, you’ll find information on acquiring and maintaining several types of Arkansas nursing licensure. We’re constantly making updates, but with the speed of change in the healthcare sphere it’s difficult to stay current. If you have any comments or suggestions for our information on nursing in Arkansas, please email us at info@nursinglicensemap.com!

Sponsored Online Nursing Programs

Sponsored

Earn an MS in Nursing online from Georgetown University.

  • Earn your MS in Nursing in as few as 23 months
  • Choose from one of four APRN specialty areas: AG-ACNP, FNP, NM/WHNP, or WHNP
  • Gain hands-on clinical experience in evidence-based practice

Earn a Master of Science in Nursing online from Simmons University.

  • Accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)
  • Preparation to pursue certification as a Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Part-time, full-time, and extended plans of study

Earn your MSN online from USC’s Top-Ranked School of Social Work.

  • Prepares RNs to pursue board certification as family nurse practitioners
  • Earn a CCNE-accredited MSN in as few as 21 months
  • Choose from part-time and full-time study options

Sponsored

Compact State Status

Arkansas is a Nursing Licensure Compact state.

Prescriptive Authority in Arkansas

According to the Nurse Practice Act of the State of Arkansas , advanced practice registered nurses may apply for prescriptive authority under Schedule III-V. The completion of a board approved pharmacology course is required as well as a collaborative practice agreement and quality assurance plan must be submitted. There is also a certification fee for APRNs of $160.

Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) in Arkansas

APRNs in Arkansas include: certified nurse practitioner, certified registered nurse anesthetist, certified nurse midwife, and clinical nurse specialist.

Education: Master’s degree or higher from an approved nurse education program

Examination: Varies for Different Certifications

Fees:

  • $125 Original License
  • $30 License Certification/Verification

Additional Information: An active registered nurse license is required for application.

Renewal: APRN renewal coincides with the renewal of the RN license. Verified national certification is also required. Renewal fee is $65.

Learn more on how to become an advanced practice registered nurse.

Information for APRNs in Arkansas was retrieved from the Arkansas State Board of Nursing Rules – Chapter Four, as of January 2020.

Registered Nurse (RN) in Arkansas

Education: Nursing degree from board-approved school in a registered nurse program.

Examination: NCLEX-RN

Fees:

  • Initial RN license is provided for free
  • $100 License/Certification by Exam
  • $125 License/Certification by Endorsement

Renewal: RN license expiration date should be the last day of your birth month. If you were born in an even-numbered year, your license will expire in even-numbered years. If you were born in an odd-numbered year, your license will expire in odd-numbered years.

Endorsement: RN license by endorsement in Arkansas requires verification of licensure, employment, a declaration of state of residence, and a criminal background check.

Learn more on how to become a registered nurse.

Information for RN licensure in Arkansas was retrieved from the Arkansas State Board of Nursing RN Initial by Exam Information and RN License by Endorsement, as of January 2020.

Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) in Arkansas

Education: Completed state-approved program for the preparation of practical nurses.

Examination: NCLEX

Fees:

  • $100 License/Certification by Exam
  • $125 License/Certification by Endorsement

Renewal:

LPNs renew licenses every two years on the last day of the nurse’s birth month. LPNs with prescriptive rights must complete five CEUs in pharmacology specific to their practice area during each licensing period. Individuals practicing LPNs must renew their license through their national certifying organization.

LPN license expiration date should be the last day of your birth month. If you were born in an even-numbered year, your license will expire in even-numbered years. If you were born in an odd-numbered year, your license will expire in odd-numbered years.

Learn more on how to become a licensed practical nurse.

Information for LPN licensure in Arkansas was retrieved from the Arkansas State Board of Nursing LPN Licensure by Exam Information and LPN License by Endorsement, as of January 2020.

Fees for licensure and renewal on the above nursing careers in Arkansas was retrieved from the Arkansas State Board of Nursing – Licensing Fees, as of January 2020.

Sponsored Online Nursing Programs

Sponsored

Earn an MS in Nursing online from Georgetown University.

  • Earn your MS in Nursing in as few as 23 months
  • Choose from one of four APRN specialty areas: AG-ACNP, FNP, NM/WHNP, or WHNP
  • Gain hands-on clinical experience in evidence-based practice

Earn a Master of Science in Nursing online from Simmons University.

  • Accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)
  • Preparation to pursue certification as a Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Part-time, full-time, and extended plans of study

Earn your MSN online from USC’s Top-Ranked School of Social Work.

  • Prepares RNs to pursue board certification as family nurse practitioners
  • Earn a CCNE-accredited MSN in as few as 21 months
  • Choose from part-time and full-time study options

Sponsored