The Nursing Licensure Compact (NLC) allows nurses in participating states to recognize the nursing licenses issued by other participating states. Both states in question must be members of the Nursing Licensure Compact.

The Compact applies to both Registered Nurses (RNs) and Licensed Practical Nurses (LPNs), however, there are plans to implement a similar agreement for Advanced Practice Nurses. The date has not yet been set, but Utah, Iowa, and Texas have already passed laws to authorize their states participation in an Advanced Practice Nursing Compact.

States currently participating in the Nursing Licensure Compact:

  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Wisconsin

The National Council of State Boards of Nursing has created this video to help you understand when and how you can use a multistate license.