Colorado Nursing License
Important Note: Nursing licensure and practice requirements are subject to change. Nursing License Map makes its best effort to keep content accurate; however, the official source is the State Board of Nursing. Make sure to confirm licensing requirements with the Colorado State Board of Nursing before applying for licensure or renewal. Last updated: 1/20/2015
Certified Registered Nurse AnesthetistY
Clinical Nurse SpecialistY
Registered Nurse (RN)N
Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)N
Certified Nurse AideN
NOTE: Nursing requirements change rapidly. Make sure to confirm licensing requirements with the Colorado State Board of Nursing before applying for licensure. Last updated: 2/21/2011
Colorado Nursing Salary Average
*The Salary of an advanced practice nurse in Colorado can vary widely based upon specialization. Learn more about Colorado nursing salary.
Learn about financial aid options for nurses on our nursing scholarships and grants page.
There are many paths to become a nurse in Colorado. The path you take will mostly depend upon the type of nurse you’d like to become and your current or prospective level of education. The higher your level of education, the more opportunities you’ll have to choose where and how you pursue your career in nursing.
In addition to nursing salaries in Colorado, you’ll find information on acquiring and maintaining several types of Colorado nursing licensure. We’re constantly making updates, but with the speed of change in the healthcare sphere it’s difficult to stay current. If you have any comments or suggestions for our information on nursing in Colorado, please let us know!
Compact State Status
Colorado is a Nursing Licensure Compact State.
Prescriptive Authority in Colorado
Advanced Practice Registered Nurses may apply for prescriptive authority for Schedule II-V drugs relating to the population and focus of their specialty for a fee of $150. 3 graduate semester hours or 4 quarter hours each in pathophysiology, pharmacology, and physical assessment are required.
Colorado Nursing Licensure Renewal
Licenses renew every two years on September 30. Licenses renewed from October 1 to November 30 pay a $15 delinquency fee plus regular licensing fees of $108 for registered nurses (R.N.’s), who may apply for late renewals. R.N.’s with prescriptive authority pay an additional $41. Advanced practice R.N. renewal is $23 plus R.N. license and prescriptive authority license fees. Fees are higher if renewing on or after October 1.
Continuing education is not required by the Colorado State Board of Nursing for renewal.
Health profile maintenance through the Colorado Board of Nursing web site is required for all R.N.’s and Advanced Practice R.N.’s. Applicants are required to disclose specific information that can be accessed by the public. Nurses are required to submit documentation questions, including disciplinary action, criminal convictions, malpractice, and surrender of prescriptive rights. For more information, please click here. Nurses are required to update the health care profile whenever there is a change or an event that must be reported.
Advanced Practice Nursing- Nurse Practitioner, Nurse Anesthetist, Nurse Midwife, Clinical Nurse Specialist in Colorado
ExaminationVaries for Different Certifications
Fees$75 Application Fee, $51 Fingerprinting Fee, Certification Examination Fee (Varies for Different Certifications)
Experience2 Years of Clinical Practice within the Last 5 Years (Requirement Waived If Applicant Fulfills the Education Requirement), Additional Experience Requirements May Be Needed for Some Certifications
Certification RequiredNational Certification as a Nurse Practitioner, Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA) from the National Board on Certification and Recertification of Nurse Anesthetists (NBCRNA), National Certification as a Clinical Nurse Specialist, Certified Nurse-Midwife (CNM) from the American Midwifery Certification Board (AMCB)
RenewalNurse practitioners must also renew with national certification organizations as indicated.
Additional InformationAn Active Colorado Registered Nurse License Is Required for Application.
Fees$88 Application Fee, $200 Examination Fee
RenewalRegistered nurses must also renew with national certification organizations as indicated.
Additional InformationRegistered Nurses Who Hold an Active License in Another Compact State Need Not Apply for Licensure in Colorado, Unless They Plan to Change Their Permanent Residency to Colorado
EndorsementIndividuals Licensed As a Registered Nurse in Another State May Apply for Licensure through Endorsement, Subject to Board Approval. A $43 Application Fee Is Required.
Fees$88 Application Fee, $200 Examination Fee
RenewalLicensed practical nurses renew every two years on September 30.
Additional InformationLicensed Practical Nurses Who Hold an Active License in Another Compact State Need Not Apply for Licensure in Colorado, Unless They Plan to Change Their Permanent Residency to Colorado
EndorsementIndividuals Licensed As a Licensed Practical Nurse in Another State May Apply for Licensure through Endorsement, Subject to Board Approval. A $43 Application Fee Is Required.
ExaminationColorado Nurse Aide Examination
Fees$123 Examination Fee
RenewalA $5 Fee Is Required. All Licenses Expire on January 31 of Even-Numbered Years. Renewal Forms Are Mailed to the Last Known Address on File Approximately Six Weeks prior to the Expiration Date. Renewal applicants must either have performed paid nursing care activities in any state or territory of the United States, for at least 8 hours within the last 24 months, or have passed both the written and skills exams approved by the Colorado Board of Nursing for nurse aide certification within the last 24 months
EndorsementIndividuals Licensed As a Certified Nurse Aide in Another State May Apply for Licensure through Endorsement, Subject to Board Approval.